Block Someone On Discord: There is no denying that a lot of people are using Discord today. These people just have to use voice or text channels to communicate with other members; it’s that easy.
But you will also notice a drawback in this ease of communication. Obviously, many Discord users sometimes show inappropriate behavior, which is enough to spoil your entire day. And they can show that kind of behavior over server chat or by texting you in person. So the question arises, how can you stop this?
Well, now in that case, you just need to block them. This way, you will be saved from their offensive messages. Plus, it can be helpful when someone is constantly spamming you with messages because we know how annoying it can be.
So, if you are someone who is facing the same kind of trouble as a Discord user, then you are at the right place. In this article, we were going to show you how you can block someone on Discord. So if you’re ready, let’s get started.
Block Someone On Discord
Blocking someone on Discord is very easy. You can do this on your Windows PC, Mac, and also via the Discord Android or iOS mobile app.
1. The very first thing you have to do is to find that user. You can find them in the member list of a mutual server by opening that server. The list will be on the far right side of the Servers screen which is open by default. But if somehow it is not, you can open it by clicking on the ‘member icon‘.
Tip: If you had a private chat with the user, you can see their name in Direct Messages. Also, you can find the user in your friends list if they are your brawl friends.
2. Once the user is found, right-click on their name and select the ‘Block‘ option from the menu.
Android and iOS on the Discord Mobile App
You can also get them in the member list of a mutual server. And you can find the user you want to block in Direct Messages if you have a personal chat with them. We have provided the below steps for both scenarios.
Mutual Server Member List
1. To open the server’s member list, you must first visit the respective server. Then, tap on the ‘member icon‘ at the top right corner of the screen.
2. Then find the member you want to block and tap on their username.
3. Now, you will see some more details of the user. Scroll down to find the three-dot icon and tap on it.
4. Finally tap on the icon with three dots and select the Block option.
1. First of all open the direct message list and tap on the user’s name.
2. Now, you will be on their chat. Simply tap on the member’s icon in the top right corner of the screen.
3. Select the Member to open the profile of the user.
4. When you’re on the user’s profile, tap the three-dot icon again to see more options.
5. Finally tap on the Block option.
This much only. You have successfully learned how to block someone on Discord. But the question is, what exactly does it mean to block someone on Discord? Well, if you want the answer to this then keep reading further.
What happens when you block someone on discord?
You think of blocking someone when you want to block them from texting or contacting you. And the same thing happens when you block any user on Discord. Similar to blocking on Instagram, once blocked, they will never be able to send you a message in private chat
However, messages sent by them to mutual servers will appear as “blocked messages”. And you want to display the content of the message then you have to click on it Also, blocked users will still be able to see your messages on any server, but they cannot reply to your messages in any way.
The unsatisfying thing about blocking someone on Discord is that they can still see your profile, which includes details like your display picture or mutual servers.
But the good thing is that you will not get their friend request when you are blocked. And finally, if you want to contact them in private chat while they are still blocked, then, unfortunately, you cannot. To do this you have to unblock them.
Unblock Someone On Discord
Now, if you blocked someone a while back, you can also unblock them to give them a second chance. To do this, you’ll need to follow the exact same steps you did to block them earlier. The only difference is that this time you will get the ‘Unblock’ option instead of the block option.
Frequently Asked Questions:-
Can the blocked person see your messages on Discord?
The blocked person will only be able to see your messages in the chat on the mutual server. In addition, they will also be able to view your profile.
Does blocking someone on a squabble make them unfriended?
Yes, if you unblock them in the future, you will have to send them a friend request again.
Will anyone know if you stop them on discord?
They can only get a signal when they try to message you via Direct Message but they can’t be sure about it.
Discord is a fun app, but if you don’t know how to protect yourself, that fun can quickly turn into sadness. This normally happens when someone starts spamming you or uses foul language inside your private chat. But we hope that after reading this article, you were able to easily turn them off by blocking them.